2022 Hammer and Hoplite Award Winners

FreeTrackDesignFINAL1 (2).png
2022 Award Winners

The Hammer Award is presented after each meet to the athlete who had a truly breakout competition.

The Hoplite Award is presented to the athlete who was of the most notable service to the team outside of competition.

Mar. 12 Freedom HS

Marsh Creek Invitational

This week's Hammer Award goes to Olivia Williams. At Marsh Creek Invitational Olivia ran an amazing 3200m race shattering the Dons' school record by nearly 30 seconds and outpacing the second-place finisher by 2:15! Olivia's time currently ranks her third nationally. Congratulations Olivia!!

Mar. 9 Acalanes HS

Dual Meet vs Clayton Valley HS

This week's Hoplite Award goes to ninth-grader Quinn Alvarado who jumped in to the second leg of the Varsity 4x400m relay at the Clayton Valley meet. His determination and effort led to a fast and valuable leg that set up what would be one of the most exciting races imaginable with the Dons edging out CV at the wire.


Mar 5, Clayton Valley HS

Clayton Valley Ugly Eagles Relay

The Hammer Award for the Clayton Valley Ugly Eagles Relay meet on March 5th goes to senior Elle Casselman. Concluding the end of a very long day, Elle took the baton in the third leg of our top DMR (1200, 400, 800, 1600m)  team behind three other runners and proceeded to take the lead over the course of her two-lap run. Elle logged a PR time of 2:24 and set up the anchor leg for an eight-second win in a time qualifying Acalanes DMR for the Arcadia meet. Elle's race was truly an inspiration to all who were there to witness it. 

This week's Hoplite Award goes to sophomore Chloe Boyle. When shin-splints threatened to put the sprinter on the sidelines, Chloe proactively joined our throws squad and has worked hard to learn the discus and shot-put. Her efforts have quickly paid off with Chloe contributing much needed marks in the girls' throws. Chloe's PR's are quickly rising currently standing at 52'11' in the disc and 19'2" in the shot.


Feb. 26, Acalanes HS
Scrimmage vs. Clayton Valley and Concord

The Hammer Award is awarded to frosh Haley Chelemedos. Haley ran on the winning girl's 4x100 and 4x400 relay teams, she placed third in the 200m and won the high jump with a stellar 5 foot clearance. This was Haley's first high school meet and a tremendously successful one. We are very excited to watch her compete throughout the 2022 season.

This week's Hoplite Award goes to Nathan Krishnan for his invaluable assistance in helping run a successful meet this past weekend.